2014 Howard Mayer Brown Award Winner-Jeanne Lamon

    Jeanne Lamon

    Jeanne Lamon is the 2014 recipient of the Howard Mayer Brown Award for lifetime achievement in the field of early music. This award is named in memory of the renowned and beloved musicologist from the University of Chicago, Howard Mayer Brown, and recognizes lifetime achievement in the field of early music.

    Music Director of Tafelmusik since 1981, violinist Jeanne Lamon has been praised by critics in Europe and North America for her strong musical leadership. In addition to performing with and directing Tafelmusik, Jeanne regularly guest directs symphony orchestras in North America and abroad. Upcoming and recent engagements include Les Violons du Roy, Detroit Symphony, l'Orchestre Métropolitain (Montreal), Orchestra London, Victoria Symphony, and Symphony Nova Scotia. She has won numerous awards for her work with Tafelmusik, including the Prix Alliance from the Alliance Française, the 1997 M. Joan Chalmers Award for Artistic Direction, and the prestigious Molson Prize from the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2000, Jeanne Lamon was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in recognition of her work with Tafelmusik. Jeanne Lamon holds two honorary Doctorates, one from York University and one from Mount Saint Vincent University in Halifax. She is passionate about teaching young professionals, which she does at the University of Toronto and through Tafelmusik’s artist training programmes. Jeanne will be stepping down as full-time Music Director of Tafelmusik in 2014 in order to devote more time to teaching, guest directing and pursuing various hobbies.

    "Receiving the Howard Mayer Brown Award for Lifetime Achievement is a huge honour. The list of previous recipients is very impressive indeed and I will be humbled to be counted among them. Howard Mayer Brown was a towering and inspirational leader in the field of early music in America. His work influenced me profoundly in my performance of 17th c. Italian violin sonatas," says Lamon.

    Photo by Sian Richards

    Back to Annual Award Winners page.