EMA Annual Awards

    Early Music America's awards are given annually in June with each winner receiving a $1,000 cash prize. If you would like to nominate someone for an award, please submit the name of the nominee, a short bio, and a paragraph on why you are nominating him/her by October 31 of each year to info@earlymusic.org, attn: Ann Felter, Executive Director.

    This year's Annual Membership Meeting, Annual Awards Ceremony & Reception will take place Friday, June 6 from 3:30-5:30 pm in the Drawing Room at the Berkeley City Club located at 2315 Durant Avenue. Click for directions.

    The Howard Mayer Brown Award

    This award is named in memory of the renowned and beloved musicologist from the University of Chicago, Howard Mayer Brown, and recognizes lifetime achievement in the field of early music.

    Jeanne Lamon 2014 Recipient: Jeanne Lamon
    Click to read bio.

    Past Recipients:
    2013 Recipient: James Nicolson
    2012 Recipient: José Verstappen, Early Music Vancouver (Vancouver, BC)
    2011 Recipient: Boston Early Music Festival, Kathleen Fay, Executive Director (Boston, MA)
    2010 Recipient: Benjamin Bagby, Université de Paris, Sorbonne (Paris, France)
    2009 Recipient: Stanley Ritchie, Indiana University (Bloomington, IN)
    2008 Recipient: Robert Cole, Cal Performances (Berkeley, CA)
    2007 Recipient: Mary Springfels, Newberry Consort (Chicago, IL)
    2006 Recipient: Alejandro Enrique Planchart, UCSB (Santa Barbara, CA)
    2005 Recipient: Friedrich and Ingeborg von Huene, Von Huene Workshop (Boston, MA)
    2004 Recipient: Laurette Goldberg, Music Sources (Berkeley, CA)
    2003 Recipient: Joel Cohen, Boston Camerata, et al. (Boston, MA)
    2002 Recipient: Philip Brett, UCLA (Los Angeles, CA)
    2001 Recipient: Timothy McGee, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)
    2000 Recipients: Michael & Kay Jaffee, The Waverly Consort (Patterson, NY)
    1999 Recipient: George Houle, Stanford University (Stanford, CA); Santa Ynez Press
    1998 Recipient: George Hunter, University of Illinois (Urbana, IL); Northwood Music


    The Thomas Binkley Award

    This award is named for the legendary lutenist and educator Thomas Binkley, who taught at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, made ground-breaking recordings with the Studio der Frühen Musik, and served as founding director of the Early Music Institute at Indiana University. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in both performance and scholarship by the director of a university or college collegium musicum.

    Rotem Gilbert Adam Gilbert

    2014 Recipients: Rotem Gilbert and Adam Gilbert
    Click to read bios.


    Check out this wonderful feature in USC News online newsmagazine with recentl Thomas Binkley Award winners Rotem and Adam Gilbert.  

    Past Recipients:
    2013 Recipient: Robert Eisenstein, Mount Holyoke College (South Hadley, MA)
    2012 Recipient: Arthur Haas, SUNY Stony Brook (Stony Brook, NY)
    2011 Recipient: Wendy Gillespie, Indiana University (Bloomington, IN)  
    2010 Recipient: William Mahrt, Stanford University (Palo Alto, CA)
    2009 Recipient: Steven Plank, Oberlin College (Cleveland, OH)
    2008 Recipient: Hank Knox, McGill University (Montréal, QC)
    2007 Recipient: Sarah Mead, Brandeis University (Waltham, MA)
    2006 Recipient: James Tyler, University of Southern California (Los Angeles, CA)
    2005 Recipient: Ross Duffin, Fynette H. Kulas Professor of Music at Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, OH)
    2004 Recipient: Robert Mealy, Harvard University and Yale University (Cambridge, MA and New Haven, CT)
    2003 Recipient: Jeffery T. Kite-Powell, Florida State University (Tallahassee, FL)
    2002 Recipient: Gerald Hoekstra, St. Olaf College (Northfield, MN)
    2001 Recipient: Mark Cudek, Peabody Conservatory, Interlochen Arts Camp (Baltimore, MD)
    2000 Recipient: Lyle Nordstrom, University of North Texas (Denton, TX)
    1999 Recipient: Jack Ashworth, University of Louisville (Louisville, KY)
    1998 Recipient: Daniel M. Johnson, University of Texas (Austin,TX)


    The Laurette Goldberg Early Music Outreach Award

    The Laurette Goldberg Award is named for Laurette Goldberg, a teacher, performer, author and founder of musical enterprises in the San Francisco Bay area. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in outreach and/or educational projects for children or adults by ensembles and individual artists.

    Margriet Tindemans 2014 Recipient: Margriet Tindemans
    Click to read bio

    Past Recipients:
    2013 Recipient: Grant Herreid
    2012 Recipient: Chatham Baroque, Marc Giosi, Executive Director
    2011 Recipient: Piffaro, The Renaissance Band, Joan Kimball and Robert Wiemken, directors
    2010 Recipient: Phillip Serna
    2010 Lifetime Early Music Outreach Award Recipient: Judith Davidoff
    2009 Recipient: Jerry Fuller
    2009 Special Early Music Outreach Award Recipient: Grace Feldman
    2008 Recipient: Arcadia Players
    2008 Special Early Music Outreach Award Recipient: Tina Chancey 
    2007 Recipient: Sarasa Ensemble

    Click to view additional past award winners.