Directory of Early Music Ensembles

    This list represents an effort to document all of the music programs at North American colleges and universities that have an early music performance ensemble of some kind. It is necessarily a work in progress and makes no claims for complete accuracy. Each year some schools add programs, others eliminate them, and others allow them to remain inactive for a period of time. Also faculty may change, as directors retire or as teaching responsibilities change.

    Request for Corrections, Additions, or Deletions: A list such as this is constantly in need of correcting and updating. Department offerings and faculty teaching responsibilities change yearly. Please send information regarding additions, deletions, or corrections to debra@debranagy.com.

    Sources of Information:The College Music Society Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada, 2002-03, responses to a survey sent in 2000, information from the EMA booklet "Early-Music Degree Programs in North America" (4th ed., 2001), information provided by the EMA Office, research on the internet.

     

    Canada

    Alberta

    British Columbia

    Manitoba

    New Brunswick

    Ontario

    Québec

    Saskatchewan

    United States

    Alabama

    Arkansas

    Arizona

    California

    Colorado

    Connecticut

    Delaware

    Florida

    Georgia

    Hawaii

    Iowa

    Idaho

    Illinois

    Indiana

    Kansas

    Kentucky

    Louisiana

    Massachusetts

    Maine

    Maryland

    Michigan

    Minnesota

     

    Missouri

    Mississippi

    North Carolina

    Nebraska

    New Hampshire

    New Jersey

    New Mexico

    Nevada

    New York

    Ohio

    Oklahoma

    Oregon

    Pennsylvania

    Puerto Rico

    Rhode Island

    South Carolina

    South Dakota

    Tennessee

    Texas

    Utah

    Virginia

    Washington

    Wisconsin

     

     

    Abbreviations for types of ensembles:
    ME = Medieval ensemble
    RE = Renaissance instrumental & vocal consorts
    BE = Baroque chamber ensembles
    CM = Collegium Musicum (varied small ensembles)
    EMS = Early music choral group
    BO = Baroque orchestra
    ClCh = Classical chamber ensembles
    Recs = Recorder ensemble


    CANADA
    Provincial Institution, Instructor, E-mail Address, Types of Ensembles


    Alberta
    King's University College Rachel Jean Recs
    Univ. of Calgary Victor Coelho coelho@ucalgary.ca BE

    British Columbia
    Univ. of British Col. Alexander Fisher, Doreen Oke fisher@interchange.ubc.ca CM
    Univ. of Victoria Elissa Poole CM

    Manitoba
    Brandon University James Mendenhall mendenhall@brandonu.ca CM
    Univ. of Manitoba Richard Burleson burlesn@cc.umanitoba.ca CM

    New Brunswick
    Mount Allison Univ. Gayle Martin CM

    Ontario
    McMaster U. Susan Fast fastfs@mcmaster.ca CM
    Queens U. Olga Malyshko malyshko@post.QueensU.ca CM
    Royal Conservatory, ON Scott Paterson wspaterson@cs.com CM
    Univ. of Guelph, Guelph, Ont. Mary Cyr mcyr@arts.uoguelph.ca Viols
    Univ. of Ottawa Karyn Holmes CM
    Univ. of Toronto Alison Melville, Ivars Taurins RE, BE, EMS
    Univ. of Western Ontario Richard Semmens, Sandra Mangsen smangsen@julian.uwo.ca BC, BO, ClCh
    Univ. Windsor Edward Kovarik kovarik@server.uwindsor.ca CM
    Wilfred Laurier Michael Purves-Smith mpurves@wlu.ca BE

    Québec
    McGill Univ. Betsy MacMillan, Hank Knox hank@music.mcgill.ca RE, BE, EMS, BO
    Univ. de Montreal Margaret Little, Rejean Poirier rejean.poirier@umontreal.ca RE, BE, EMS, BO

    Saskatchewan
    Univ. of Saskatchewan Walter Kreyszig walter.kreyszig@usask.ca CM

    Back to list


    UNITED STATES

    State Institution, Instructor, E-mail Address, Types of Ensembles


    Alabama
    Univ. of Montevallo Betty Lumby CM
    Univ. of South Alabama Kathryn Barnes-Burroughs CM

    Arkansas
    Lyon College Michael Arshagouni CM
    Univ. of Arkansas-Fayetteville Claire Detels CM

    Arizona
    Arizona State Univ. Richard Haefer R.Haefer@asu.edu CM
    Univ. of Arizona John Brobeck brobeck@u.arizona.edu CM

    Back to list

    California
    Azusa Pacific Univ. John Sutton CM
    Calif. Inst. Of Arts Allan Vogel CM
    Calif. State Univ., Chico David Rothe CM
    Cal. State, Long Beach Greg Maldonado CM
    Claremont Graduate Univ. Wm. Lengefeld CM
    Mills College Cindy Beitman, E. Hadidan cbeitmen@netscape.net CM
    Palomar College Brenda Montiel CM
    San Diego State Univ. Lewis Peterman peterman@mail.sdsu.edu CM
    Stanford Univ. William Mahrt EMS
    Univ. of California, Berkeley Davitt Moroney dmoroney@socrates.berkeley.edu CM
    Univ. of California, Davis David Nutter danutter@ucdavis.edu ME, RE, BE, BO
    Univ. of California, Irvine Margaret Murata mkmurata@uci.edu CM
    Univ. of California, Riverside Jennifer Beazley Jbeazley@aol.com CM
    Univ. of California, San Diego Carol Plantamerra CM
    Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Michel Marc Gervais EMS
    Univ. of So. California Adam Gilbert adam.gilbert@usc.edu BE, BO

    Colorado
    Univ. of Colorado Elizabeth Farr farre@colorado.edu CM
    Colorado College Michael Grace mgrace@coloradocollege.edu RE/EMS
    Regis University Mark Davenport mdavenpo@regis.edu ME, RE, EMS
    Univ. of Northern Colorado Deborah Kauffmann CM

    Connecticut
    Univ. of Connecticut Eric Rice eric.rice@uconn.edu CM
    Univ. of of Hartford, Hartt Sch. of Music Charles Turner, Imanuel Willheim, Ronald Borror cturner@uhavax.hartford.edu CM
    Yale Univ. Richard Lalli, Robert Mealy, Simon Carrington remealy@post.harvard.edu CM, BO, EMS

    Back to list

    Delaware
    Univ. of Delaware Russell Murray, Michael O'Connor remurray@strauss.udel.edu CM, EMS

    Florida
    Daytona Beach Comm. Coll. Richard Zelley CM
    Florida International U. David Dolata dolatad@fiu.edu CM
    Florida State U. Jeffery Kite-Powell jkp@mailer.fsu.edu ME, RE, EMS, BE
    Lake Sumter Comm. Coll John Rata CM
    Univ. of Central Florida Kenneth Koons kkoons@pegasus.cc.ucf.edu Bar. Str.
    Univ. of Florida Ronald Burrichter CM

    Georgia
    Emory University Martha Bishop CM
    State U. of W. Georgia Thomas Garcia BE

    Back to list

    Hawaii
    Univ. of Hawaii, Manoa Jane Moulin CM

    Iowa
    Grinnell College Nina Treadwell CM
    Iowa State U., Ames (iastate.edu) Carl Bleyle CM
    Luther College Kathryn Reed-Maxfield CM
    Northwestern College Thomas Holm CM
    Simpson College Robert Larsen, John Benoit CM

    Idaho
    College of Southern Idaho K. Carson Wong CM

    Back to list

    Illinois
    Chicago Coll of Perf. Arts David Schrader dschrader@att.net CM
    Milliken University Daniel Carberg dcarberg@mail.millikin.edu ME, RE, EMS
    Northern Ill. St. U. Janet Hathaway u40jjh1@wpo.cso.niu.edu CM
    Northwestern U Stephen Alltop, Linda Austern springfelsm@newberry.org EMS, BO, EMS, BE
    Univ. of Chicago David Douglass, Newberry Consort CM
    Univ. of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana Charlotte Mattax mattax@uiuc.edu EMS, BE
    Western Illinois Univ. Elizabeth Wehrman l-thompson@wiu.edu CM
    Bradley Univ. S. Blake Duncan bduncan@hilltop.bradley.edu CM

    Indiana
    Indiana Univ., Bloomington Wendy Gillespie, Michael McCraw, Barbara Kallaur, Eva Lugène, Stanley Ritchie, Washington McClain, Paul Elliott, Elisabeth Wright
    wendygil@indiana.edu All types.
    St. Mary College. Nancy Menk nmenk@saintmarys.edu Madr., Hpsi.
    Univ. of Evansville Matthew Lewis, Renato Buttiri ml74@evansville.edu BE
    Univ. of Notre Dame Alexander Blachly blachly@nd.edu CM

    Kansas
    Kansas St. Univ. Bruce Gbur CM
    Pittsburgh St. U. Julie James Recs
    Univ. of Kansas Paul Laird plaird@ukans.edu CM

    Back to list

    Kentucky
    Campbellsville U. Kenneth Martin
    University of Louisville Jack Ashworth jashworth@louisville.edu EMS, BE, RE
    Western Kentucky State. U. David Kelsey

    Louisiana
    Louisiana State University CM
    SE Louisana U. Jerry Vorhees CM
    Univ. of Louisiana-Monroe

    Massachusetts
    Five College Early Music Program Robert Eisenstein reisenst@mtholyoke.edu All types.
    Amherst College * See * Five College Early Music Program CM
    Boston University John Tyson, Lisa Urkevich BE
    Brandeis U. Sarah Mead mead@brandeis.edu CM
    Coll. of Holy Cross Carol Lieberman
    Hampshire College * See * Five College Early Music Program
    Holyoke Comm. Coll. Thomas McChesney CM
    Longy School of Music Laurie Monahan Varies each term.
    Mt Holyoke Coll. * See * Five College Early Music Program
    Smith College * See * Five College Early Music Program
    Tufts U. Jane Hershey CM
    Univ. of Mass, Amherst * See * Five College Early Music Program
    Wellesley College Tom Zajac CM

    Back to list

    Maryland
    Frostberg St. U. Karen Soderberg CM
    Peabody Conservatory Mark Cudek & others mcudek@earthlink.net RE BE
    St Mary's Coll. of MD Gustavo Them CM
    Towson U. Harold Griswold CM
    Univ. of Maryland Michael Holmes holmesms@msn.com CM
    Washington Coll. Amzie Parcell

    Maine
    Bates College Ann Besser Scott ascott@bates.edu
    Bowdoin College Robert Greenlee rgreenle@bowdoin.edu
    Colby College Todd Borgerding tmborger@colby.edu

    Michigan
    Eastern Mich. U. Kevin Miller CM
    Hope College Brad Richmond CM
    Univ. of Michigan Penelope Crawford
    Western Mich. U. Matthew Steel matthew.steel@wmich.edu

    Back to list

    Minnesota
    Carleton College Lawrence Burnett lburnett@carleton.edu EMS
    Macalester College Carlton Macy macy@macalester.edu CM
    St. Olaf College Gerald Hoekstra hoekstra@stolaf.edu CM, EMS

    Missouri
    Southeast Missouri St. U. Paul Thomson RE
    Univ. of Missouri, Rolla Joel Kramme jkramme@umr.edu CM
    Webster U. Kathryn Smith Bowers bowers@webster.edu EMS

    Mississippi
    Univ. of Mississippi David Steel CM

    Back to list

    North Carolina
    Appalachian St. U. Alicia Chapman RE
    Duke U. Kerry McCarthy kmccarth@duke.edu CM
    Elizabeth City State U. Karen Brown CM
    Univ. of N. Carolina, Chapel Hill Brent Wissick bswissic@email.unc.edu CM
    Univ. of N. Carolina, Greensboro Pierpaolo Polzonetti p_polzon@uncg.edu CM

    Nebraska
    Nebr. Wesleyan U. Jean Henderson Recs

    New Hampshire
    Franklin Pierce Coll. David Scharfensberger CM

    Back to list

    New Jersey
    College of New Jersey Robert Guarino CM
    Drew U. Anne Yardley CM
    Montclair St. U. Jeffrey Gall CM
    Rowan U. Joseph Mayes mayes@rowan.edu
    Rutgers St. U., Camden Wilbert Jerome CM
    Rutgers St. U., New Brunswick Andrew Kirkman CM

    New Mexico
    New Mexico Highlands U. Andréa Gracia Nuthmann CM
    Univ. of New Mexico, Albuquerque Susan Patrick CM

    Nevada
    Univ. of of Nevada, Las Vegas Janis McKay, Stephan Caplan mckayj@nevada.edu CM

    Back to list

    New York
    NY Pace Univ., Pleasantville, NY Ludwig Sheffield CM
    CUNY, City College Janet Steele CM
    CUNY - Grad. Center Stephen Blum CM
    Cornell U. Judith Peraino
    Eastman S. of M. Paul O'Dette, Patrick Macey, Jennifer Brown, Crystel Thielmann lute@compuserv.com CM
    Hofstra U. William Hettrick CM
    Jewish Theological Sem. Dennis Helmrich CM
    Manhattan Sch. of Mus. Louis Baggar CM
    New York U. Stanley Boorman, Edward Roesner stanley.boorman@nyu.edu CM
    St. Lawrence U. Barry Torres CM
    SUNY-Stony Brook Arthur Haas BE
    SUNY-Potsdam Christopher Lanz CM
    Syracuse U. Patti Thompson CM
    Univ. of Rochester L. Brett Cornish Scott CM
    Wells College Susan Sandman

    Ohio
    Baldwin-Wallace Coll. Janet Winzenburger jwinzenb@bw.edu
    Bowling Green St. U. Mary Natvig mnatvig@bgnet.bgsu.edu CM
    Case Western R.U. Ross Duffin, Janet Winzenburger rwd@po.cwru.edu All types.
    Cleveland St. U. Judith Eckelmayer CM
    Oberlin College Steven Plank et al. steven.plank@oberlin.edu RE, BE, EMS
    Ohio U. Donna Conaty, Richard Wetzel wetzel@oak.cats.ohiou.edu CM
    Univ. of Cincinnati Stephanie Schlagel stephanie.schlagel@uc.edu CM
    Otterbein Coll. Jim Bates CM
    Univ. of Toledo (utoledo.edu) Alice Carol Neff Petersen
    Wittenberg U. Lawrence Pitzer BE
    Wright State U. Mike Harley mike.harley@wright.edu RE
    Youngstown State U. (ysu.edu) Laura Buch labuch@cc.ysu.edu CM

    Oklahoma
    Univ. of Oklahoma Eugene Enrico ejenrico@ou.edu CM, BO

    Back to list

    Oregon
    Marylhurst U. Victoria Gunn Pich RE
    Portland State U. Stephen Martin CM
    Univ. of Oregon Marc Vanscheeuwijck, Eric Mentzel marcovan@oregon.uoregon.edu ME,RE,BE

    Pennsylvania
    Dickenson College Blake Wilson CM
    Millersville U. (millersville.edu) Buddy James CM
    Moravian College Larry Lipkis CM
    Philadelphia Biblical U. Samuel Hsu CM
    Swarthmore College Michael Marissen, Richard Stone BE
    Temple U. Paul Epstein, Robert Wiemken rcwiemken@verizon.net CM
    Univ. of Pennsylvania Gwyn Roberts groberts@sas.upenn.edu CM
    Univ. of Pittsburgh Don Franklin CM
    West Chester U. Charles Gower Price CM

    Puerto Rico
    Universidad de Puerto Rico E. Dufrasne-Gonzalez CM

    Back to list

    Rhode Island
    Brown U. David Josephson CM
    Providence College Katherine Gordon-Seifert CM

    South Carolina
    Converse College Robin Wallace robin.wallace@converse.edu CM
    Univ. of So. Carolina, Columbia Christopher Berg, Jerry Curry CM
    Winthrop U. Ian Pearson CM

    South Dakota
    Univ. of So. Dakota Larry Schou RE

    Back to list

    Tennessee
    Belmont U. Richard Hoffman, Richard Shadinen Recs, guitar
    Lipscomb U. Gerald Moore gerald.moore@lipscomb.edu ME, RE
    Univ. of Memphis Kenneth Kreitner EMS, BO

    Texas
    Abilene Christian U. Greg Straughan CM
    Baylor U. Jann Cosart jann_cosart@baylor.edu CM
    Texas Tech University Angela Mariani CM
    Concordia U. Robert Achtenberg CM
    Texas A. & M Polly Detels CM
    Houston Baptist U. Rhonda Furr CM
    Rice U. Honey Meconi hmeconi@rice.edu CM
    Southwestern Assembly of God U. Brandon Keaton CM
    SW Baptist Theol. Seminary David Music CM
    Univ. of Houston Matthew Dirst CM
    Univ. of North Texas (unt.edu) Lyle Nordstrom,Lenora McCroskey nordstrom@music.unt.edu All types.
    Univ. of Texas, San Antonio John Silantien
    West Texas A.&M. U. Robert Krause CM

    Utah
    Brigham Young U. Douglas Bush, David Blackinton douglas_bush@byu.edu CM

    Back to list

    Virginia
    Christopher Newport U. Clyde Brockett CM
    Mary Washington Coll. Patricia Norwood BE
    Old Dominion U. Lee Teply CM
    Univ. of Virginia Paul Walker pmw6q@virginia.edu CM

    Washington
    Central Washington U. Jeffrey Snedeker snedeker@cwu.edu Meets irregularly
    Washington State U., Pullman Lori Wiest lwiest@mail.wsu.edu Madr. Singers
    Western Washington U. Bert Van Boer Bertil.Vanboer@wwu.edu CM

    Wisconsin
    Alverno College Janet Shurr Janet.Shurr@alverno.edu CM (RE, BE varies)
    Cardinal Strich U. Scott Wenzel, Eun-Joo Kwak CM
    Univ. of Wisconsin-Green Bay Gillian Rodgers CM
    Lawrence U. Susan Klotzbach, Robert Bjella et al. susan.klotzbach@lawrence.edu CM, EMS
    Mt. Mary College, Milwaukee Sr. Rita Schweitzer schweitr@mtmary.edu Recorders, Madr.
    WI Ripon College Sarah Mahler Hughes HughesS@ripon.edu CM
    Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison Jeanne Swack et al jswack@facstaff.wisc.edu BE
    Univ. of Wisconsin, Milwaukee Constance Sleger csleger@vsvh.org CM (class)

    Back to list